A Life Worth Deserving

I feel like there is an epidemic out there of people who seem to be thankful for a life in which “they do not deserve”. I have read statements like, “Thank you for all my blessings and a life that I do not deserve”. Excuse me? I have seen you work your ass off to provide for your family. I have seen you want to make each day special, to make a difference to those around you. I have seen you pay it forward in the drive through line at Starbucks. I have seen you make bento box lunches with cookie cutter shaped sandwiches. I have seen you plan surprise family vacations to Disney, host baby showers and scour Pinterest for birthday party ideas. So, to all those humble enough to believe that you don’t deserve the blessings in your life, I would like to let you know, you do.

You deserve your life.

We need to allow ourselves to take credit for the blessings in our lives! We all deserve love, happiness and forgiveness. You deserve the life you have worked for. We all make mistakes, we falter, we make impulsive decisions with disastrous consequences, but that doesn’t mean we are undeserving of happiness or love. Yes, there are times when good things happen to awful people, but this is not the rule. Take a deep breath, you are doing just fine.

Why are we so hard on ourselves? We are human- we make mistakes, we move on and we try to learn from them. Sometimes we are successful, sometimes we aren’t, but here is the key:

It is ok.

You are ok. We are all ok! On the bell curve, we all pretty much fall in the middle. We may sway a little to the left and then swing back to the right, but for the majority- we are trying. Allow yourself to sway and allow yourself to enjoy the happiness on the upswing. When did it become necessary to stop taking credit for the awesome joys in life? I don’t think we can truly enjoy the fruits of our labor if we don’t take responsibility for their existence! They didn’t just land in our laps- we worked our fucking asses off for them.

Maybe if we were all a little more supportive, a little more kind, a little more forgiving, especially to ourselves, we would allow ourselves the opportunity to grow even more.

You deserve your life.
xoxo

You can also follow me on Facebook! Come join the party.

be gentle

48 thoughts on “A Life Worth Deserving

  1. Love this so much!!!
    I’ve always felt almost guilty for knowing that I’ve worked my ass off to get to where I am and while I am very thankful for everything that has led up to this point, I know that I definitely DO deserve these things and wish more people would claim what was theirs!
    Bravo for this well written article and for encouraging everyone ❤

    Like

  2. I agree with your post completely! My dad is so hard on himself and works more then he has to and is always giving to other. He is never happy though, he is always trying to do more, be better! I wish sometimes he would just take a moment to realize just how awesome he already is. I know he will always keep doing good for others, but in a way I wish he would sometimes do something for himself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for writing this. If you wanted to make a difference in someones life by blogging you have done that today by writing this.

    Like

  4. I think it is a slippery slope. If we work hard and good things come into our lives, it is important to be thankful and feel blessed, but humility is good too. “I Deserve” can sometimes go awry and seep into the egotistical part of ourselves. I think I good balance of realizing that we are blessed without a sense of entitlement is good.

    Like

  5. Love this article. You are right when you say ‘You deserves Your life’. Life is simple and beautiful when we have positive thoughts with the blessings of God.

    Like

  6. This Post I see took a lot of thought and even some experience maybe? Yes, I know I traveled this same street many years ago, but yet sometimes people venture to go down that one way street the wrong way until they realize it has to be the right way or no way at all.

    Like

  7. It may be alarming, but it’s also a show of being humble. Yes, it’s probably best to encourage them and let them know they deserve a lot, but also in a manner that never makes them lose that humbleness and gratitude.

    Like

Leave a Reply

