January 5th: Cosmic Calendar

The fifth installment of January guest blogs: “Your scary, crazy, amazing goal you would accomplish in 2015 if you could do absolutely ANTHING!” If you would like to participate find me on Facebook– I would love to share your story!

January 5th: Monica: Cosmic Calendar

Lets see if I have enough brain cells to write this post after binge drinking-in the new year. Happy New Year everyone! This foray around the sun is off to an oddly positive start. It’s as if a second wind has come through pushing my sails into beautiful waters. And so far I haven’t over-analyzed it as I’m about to now: my marriage is solid, my pack of friends is tighter than ever, and I’m finally happy with who I am. That last one means a lot to me since I became existential about morals. I’ve spent the last five years down a path of questioning my world and also inventing a new one. And now I can coast on my years of research and enjoy the knowledge I so eagerly sought out. It seems as though my opportunities are ripe for the picking this year, and all I have to do is reach. I’m bolder than I’ve ever been! I have some belief in an acquiescent world and that belief has given me the incentive to push myself in ways I’ve always wanted but never had the courage for. I’m standing here in 2015, patting myself on the back for the distance and strife’s I’ve overcome. Good job me! Keep it up!

I have an interesting goal for this cosmic year; to meet my future self. That is, to strive to be the most driven self I can be this year which will then catapult my future in household time travel which will lead to me traveling backwards through the space time continuum to present day (2015) to shake my former self’s hand. Did you get that? Who I choose to be today, in every moment, will determine who I am tomorrow. My goal is to make the right choices, trust my ethical gut and forge the life I am destined for. I think it will go something like this: I’m starting school at a new University this semester which is where I will meet Fritz Farnell, a cool brilliant young man. He studies Aerospace Science and Art History and his music interests include Brett Dennen, Kanye, Phoenix and Kid Cudi. We are destined to be best friends.

This is how my path to inventing time travel starts. Years later, after graduation Fritz and I will team up with Nova Waldorf, a champion mathematician. She will later win the Fields Medal for her work on the Hypothetical Cloning of the Universe. It is this trios’ hard work that will project mankind forwards and backwards in time.

The first attempt concluded with an astronaut named Wayne and myself hurtling 4,700 years into the future. We were far from mastering the science of time travel back then and I’m glad to say that trip was merely like looking through a window to another world. Wayne and I promised each other we would never share what we saw and I laud that oath. Eventually we work out the kinks and that is how I come to shake my future self’s hand. Is this hypothesis crazy? Yes. Far fetched? You bet. But if there ever were a year to accomplish such a quixotic feat, it’s 2015. Onward we march into the future, never knowing what really lies ahead.

I believe that you summon your own future (to an extent). If the possibility of imagining this exists than there’s more than a chance that it can come true. This year challenge yourselves to believe in the most impossible events coming true. Make your own future. I know I am.

One thought on “January 5th: Cosmic Calendar

Leave a Reply

