January 8th: Nurse No More

The seventh installment of January guest blogs: “Your scary, crazy, amazing goal you would accomplish in 2015 if you could do absolutely ANTHING!” If you would like to participate find me on Facebook– I would love to share your story!

January 8th: Kathie: Nurse No More

2015 is going to be my year.  I have finally retired!

I tried to retire a couple of years ago and had to got back to work for financial reasons.  But this time is for real.  I’ve been a nurse for more than 44 years.  Somewhere in the first 10 years or so, I realized that the career I had chosen when I was 18 was the wrong one.  But with family, many moves around the country and the lack of a college degree (I became an RN in one of the now defunct hospital based diploma programs) there was no easy, affordable way to change careers.  I became a psychiatric nurse which was more in line with my interests and abilities, but still was not really right.  I always did a good job and was highly thought of by my employers, but it sucked the life out of me.  Even working part time seemed to drain all my energy.

So now, this is my time.  I have so many things I want to do.  And while I would love to do things like travel, most of my desires are home based.  Time to craft, read, sew, cook, and organize all my “stuff”.  I really think one reason I have held on to so much is that I didn’t really know what I wanted or needed because I was waiting to live my “someday life”.  My son Dan has wisely told me to not try to put pressure on myself to do or figure out everything right away.  So for now I am trying to “feel” what is right for me.

It is interesting to notice when I feel as though I am in the right place or doing the right things.  It is not surprising to those who know me that being in church or sitting at my sewing machine might feel like “right” places, but who knew that being at the gym would feel like a “right” place!  Sometimes just cooking in my kitchen feels so right.

So, among many goals (like cleaning, organizing, losing weight, and decluttering) my main goal for this year is to get to know myself and what I like and what I want.  I’m kind of excited to meet me again.

One thought on “January 8th: Nurse No More

  1. Kathie, You Go Girl! Change is a part of life, so there’s no sin in wanting to change your career, location, or lifestyle. I would suggest that you find yourself by writing – journaling, interviewing yourself, or even notes on what you liked or didn’t about yesterday. Vow to make it better. You are now in charge of YOU!

    Like

Leave a Reply

